top of page
  • Writer's picturerochepeg

tHE MERRY mONTH OF MAY!


Tomorrow is International Nurses Day--And this has been the week to celebrate all nurses! Above is a picture of my beautiful mother, who graduated during WWII. This coming weekend we'll be celebrating all mothers. So, here's to my Mom!


This is also National Police Week, where we want to honor those who serve and those who have died in that service. There is not enough praise being heard for them these days.


Speaking of mothers: the turtles are beginning to come back to our beaches. There is some concern as to what Hurricane Ian will have done to the nesting, however. Below is a picture of the path one mother took from the water to the top of the beach, while never depositing any eggs. Why this happens isn't clear, but it's thought that the damage to vegetation in the area might have shifted the light and disoriented the mother, or she might have simply been disturbed. This is called a "false crawl," and one can see where she has gone up one path, turned, and come down another. Note the size of the flipper print. The average size of a mother is 250 to 300 pounds. Impressive maneuver for one used to her support in water.



Finally, in this rather disjointed post, I do have two authors who are new to me, and both are thoroughly enjoyable. First: For fans of Louise Penny's Inspector Armand Gamache and Donna Leon's Commissario Guido Brunetti, I want to add Andrea Camilleri's Inspector Montalbano! I just finished The Patience of the Spider (2007). This was #8 in the series set in Sicily. Here the inspector is called upon to head up the investigation into what appears to be the kidnapping of a famous geologist's daughter. There is evident camaraderie among the characters, as well as sarcasm, humor, and the Inspector's careful logic. This series was made into a television series in Italy and was quite entertaining as a read.


My second recommendation: The Book of Goose by Yiyun Li (2022). This novel was recommended by a friend, and I was simply curious, given the title. It took me by surprise in that I initially thought it was a somewhat slow-moving story of two young girls coming of age in rural France, one slightly scary. However, it quickly grabbed my attention as the girls traveled different paths in their early teens. It is beautifully written and speaks to how those paths we take--whether by choice or by those who guide us--will impact our futures.


HAVE A GREAT MONTH !


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
bottom of page